Sophia ~ Wisdom ~ Gnostic Thunder Perfect Mind ~ Intellect and Paradox ~ the World TEACHER appears

This blog entry focuses on the paradox which is the overriding theme in the video linked below Thunder Perfect Mind

A paradox is a statement that apparently contradicts itself and yet might be true.Some logical paradoxes are known to be invalid arguments but are still valuable in promoting critical thinking.

Some paradoxes have revealed errors in definitions assumed to be rigorous, and have caused axioms of mathematics and logic to be re-examined.

Common themes in paradoxes include self-reference, infinite regress, circular definitions, and confusion between different levels of abstraction.

“But one must not think ill of the paradox, for the paradox is the passion of thought, and the thinker without the paradox is like the lover without passion: a mediocre fellow. But the ultimate potentiation of every passion is always to will its own downfall, and so it is also the ultimate passion of the understanding to will the collision, although in one way or another the collision must become its downfall. This, then, is the ultimate paradox of thought: to want to discover something that thought itself cannot think.”
Søren Kierkegaard Philosophical Fragments

Anahit (ArmenianԱնահիտ) was the goddess of fertility and healing, wisdom and water in Armenian mythology.
In early periods she was the goddess of war. By the 5th century BC she was the main deity in Armenia along with Aramazd.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anahit

Gnostic Poem of Sophia – Thunder Perfect Mind

The Thunder, Perfect Mind” is a poem discovered among the Gnostic manuscripts at Nag Hammadi in 1945.

The Thunderbolt in Myth and Symbol 

It is the pillar of the sky which, at the beginning of time, “separated heaven and earth.”

  • Lightning is a generative, masculine pillar. It impregnates goddesses.
  • Lighting is a “chain of arrows” launched skyward by a great warrior or hero.
  • Lighting appears as a ladder or backbone of the sky, whose steps were ascended by an ancestral hero.
  • Lightning spirals, twists, or whirls across the heavens. It is a whorl, swastika, or triskeleon.
  • Lighting appears as an undulating, fiery serpent.
  • Lightning takes the form of twins, two brothers, or two companions, each viewed as the alter ego of the other.
  • Lightning is two serpentine or rope-like filaments wound around a central axis (caduceus motif)
  • Lightning appears as an equal-limbed cross; it explodes as luminous streamers, dividing the home of the gods into equal quarters.
  • Lighting “blossoms” as a flower.

The Original Swastika

(reproduced with permission from Michael MeyerhoferDamnatio Memoriae, 2011)

Look for it on Thor’s hammer, shards of Greek pottery, silk tapestries from old China.
Whittled by Ukrainians in spans of mammoth bone, sewn into the feathered gowns of Quetzalcóatl.

Raised rune over the Buddha’s heart.
Crest of the early Christians who borrowed from the very Romans they were hiding from, long after its axles and rays symbolized rebirth in the belly of a Trojan goddess. 

In Hinduism, marking thresholds and doors.
A Navajo prayer for good fortune, a metaphor balancing mountains and rain.

Sometimes backwards, sometimes not.
Sometimes, the arms are replaced with a woman’s blowing hair.
Sometimes the tips end in playful swirls to symbolize migration.

Luck tattooed in lime, scattered on the pewter coins of Gaul.
Ages before the cross or the ankh, before black snow piled on the hoods of German sedans, this one symbol spread across oceans.

A genetic dream.
Our birthright, our redemption-fueling the pyres of all we’ve already lost.

The Thunderbolt in Myth and Symbol 

SYMBOLISM AND INTERPRETATION of the SWASTIKA

Many theories have been presented concerning the symbolism of the Swastika, its relation to ancient deities and its representation of certain qualities. In the estimation of certain writers it has been respectively the emblem of Zeus, of Baal, of the sun, of the sun-god, of the sun-chariot of Agni the fire-god, of Indra the rain-god, of the sky, the sky-god, and finally the deity of all deities, the great God, the Maker and Ruler of the Universe. It has also been held to symbolize light or the god of light, of the forked lightning, and of water. It is believed by some to have been the oldest Aryan symbol. In the estimation of others it represents Brahma, Vishnu, and Siva, Creator, Preserver, Destroyer. It appears in the footprints of Buddha, engraved upon the[Pg 771] solid rock on the mountains of India (fig. 32). It stood for the Jupiter Tonans and Pluvius of the Latins, and the Thor of the Scandinavians. In the latter case it has been considered—erroneously, however—a variety of the Thor hammer.

In the opinion of at least one author it had an intimate relation to the Lotus sign of Egypt and Persia. Some authors have attributed a phallic meaning to it. Others have recognized it as representing the generative principle of mankind, making it the symbol of the female.

Its appearance on the person of certain goddesses, Artemis, Hera, Demeter, Astarte, and the Chaldean Nana, the leaden goddess from Hissarlik (fig. 125), has caused it to be claimed as a sign of fecundity.


Please note: though this video is incorrectly labelled the Gnostic Poem of Sophia,
it is still one of the more bearable readings on youtube that is why I posted it,
also there is yet another interpretation offered in text below
-enjoy

Thunder Perfect Intellect

The Thunder, Perfect Mind” is a poem discovered among the Gnostic manuscripts at Nag Hammadi in 1945.

Thunder Perfect Mind (the title is, more accurately, The Thunder – Perfect Intellect) takes the form of an extended, riddling monologue, in which an immanentsaviour speaks a series of paradoxical statements concerning the divine feminine nature. These paradoxical utterances echo Greekidentity riddles, a common poetic form in the Mediterranean. There are some translations to the right from the same section of the poem. Line numbering is different in different translations.

Personally I feel the double nature of the swastika helps solve this paradoxical riddling monologue … as I will attempt to illustrate using illustrations, naturally.

Description: Originally titled, ‘The Thunder, Perfect Mind’, translated by George W. MacRae and recited by Helen Demetriou of Esophoria Mystery School.Thunder Perfect Mind (the title is, more accurately, The Thunder – Perfect Intellect) takes the form of an extended, riddling monologue, in which an immanent saviour speaks a series of paradoxical statements concerning the divine feminine nature. The original language of the poem was Greek, though only a Coptic version survives in the Nag Hammadi library; the manuscript resides in the Cairo Coptic museum. – Wikipedia

To the reader it is important to remember as you read ‘The Thunder, Perfect Mind’ below that the poem itself has been ‘italicized’ thus all other text accompanying the poem, along with the images inserted are meant as reminders and triggers for myself as I continue to link ‘fundamental’ concepts that address what ‘just is’ IS.

‘The Thunder, Perfect Mind’ 

I was sent from the Power
And I have come to those who think upon me.
And I was found among those who seek after me.
Look at me, you who think upon me;
And you hearers, hear me!
You who are waiting for me, take me to yourselves.
And do not pursue me from your vision.
And do not make your sound hate me, nor your hearing.
Do not be ignorant of me at any place or any time.
Be on guard!
Do not be ignorant of me.

Pause.
As you continue reading this document that concerns itself with PARADOXES using ‘I AM’ statements, paradoxical ‘declarations’ full of Antithesis …. please try to remember these science FACTS  about the handedness of the two opposing swastikas.

The proportions of the Nazi swastika were fixed based on a 5×5 diagonal grid, the same grid as the 5×5 magic square of Mars, the god of war.

Characteristic is the 90° rotational symmetry and chirality, hence the absence of reflectional symmetry, and the existence of two versions of swastikas that are each others mirror image.

And in China the swastika was called the Wan and the Lei Wen, known as the ‘THUNDER SCROLL’

Rotational symmetry, chirality, absence of reflection symmetry, and asymmetry are all significant factors if designing a geometric universe.

Let’s continue with the paradoxical THUNDER PERFECT MIND – INTELLECT

For I am the first and the last.
I am the honored one and the scorned one.

clockwise vs counterclockwise

I am the whore and the holy one.
I am the wife and the virgin.
I am <the mother> and the daughter.
I am the members of my mother.

I am the barren one and many are her sons.
I am she whose wedding is great,and I have not taken a husband.
I am the midwife and she who does not bear.
I am the solace of my labor pains.

I am the bride and the bridegroom.
It is my husband who begot me.
I am the mother of my father and the sister of my husband.
And he is my offspring.
I am the servant of him who prepared me and I am the lord of my offspring.
But he is the one who be[got me] before time on a day of birth and he is my offspring in time, and my power is from him.
I am the staff of his power in his youth and he is the rod of my old age.
And whatever he wills happens to me.

I am the incomprehensible silence and the much-remembered thought.

I am the voice of many sounds and the utterance (logos) of many forms.
I am the utterance of my name.

Why, you who hate me, do you love me
And hate those who love me?
You who deny me, confess me,
And you who confess me, deny me.
You who speak the truth about me, tell lies about me,
And you who have told lies about me, speak the truth about me.
You who know me, become ignorant of me; and may those who have been ignorant of me come to know me

For I am knowledge and ignorance.
I am shame and boldness.
I am unashamed, I am ashamed.
I am strength and I am fear.
I am war and peace.

Image

Give heed to me ..
I am the disgraced and the exalted one ..
Give heed to my poverty and my wealth.
Do not be haughty to me when I am discarded upon the earth,

And you will find me among [those] that are to come.
And do not look upon me on the garbage-heap and go and leave me discarded.
And you will find me in the kingdoms.
And do not look upon me when I am discarded among those who are disgraced and in the least places,
And then laugh at me.
And do not cast me down among those who are slain in severity.

But as for me, I am merciful and I am cruel.

Be on guard!
Do not hate my obedience,
And do not love my self-control in my weakness.
Do not forsake me,
And do not be afraid of my power.

Why then do you despise my fear
And curse my pride?

I am she who exists in all fears and boldness in trembling.
I am she who is weak, and I am well in pleasure of place.
I am foolish and I am wise.

Optical forces induced on a light mill motor

Why have you hated me in your counsels?

(Is it) because I shall be silent among those who are silent,
And I shall appear and speak?

Why then have you hated me, you Greeks?
Because I am a non-Greek among non-Greeks?

For I am the Wisdom of Greeks
And the Gnosis of non-Greeks.
I am judgment for Greeks and non-Greeks.
I am the one whose image is multiple in Egypt.

Egyptian hieroglyph for water ripple – NUN
AAA Day in the LIfE of the 137 SS Mystic – August 3, 2013 – NUN

Pool

Egyptian hieroglyph for a pool of water – SHE
The Egyptians portrayed bodies of water by means of equally spaced vertical wave lines.
[Image: MezinUkraine10000BCbirdhats.jpg]
Mezin, Ukraine circa 10,000 B.C.
note the vertical NUN/SHE ripples/body of water
placed on the ‘breast’ of this bird sculpture
[linked image]
above images on the left using black and red lines illustrates how the swastika has been hidden/veiled among the ‘SHE’
AAA Day in the LIfE of the 137 SS Mystic – Jan. 30, 2013 – Mezin Swastika – Warka Mosaics

And the one who has no image among non-Greeks.
I am she who has been hated everywhere and who has been loved everywhere.

I am she who is called Life and you have called Death.
I am she who is called Law and you have called Lawlessness.

I am the one you have pursued, and I am the one you have restrained.
I am the one you have scattered and you have gathered me together.
Before me you have been ashamed and you have been unashamed with me.

I am she who observes no festival and I am she whose festivals are many.
I, I am godless and I am she whose God is multiple.

I am the one upon whom you have thought and whom you have scorned.

I am unlearned, and it is from me they learn.

I am she whom you have despised and upon whom you think.
I am the one from whom you have hidden and to whom you are manifest.
But whenever you hide yourselves, I myself will be manifest.
For whenever you are manifest, I myself [will hide f]rom you.

Those who have [… ]
[…]
[…] senselessly

Take me […] [underst]anding out of pain,
and receive me to yourselves out of understanding [and] pain.
Receive me to yourselves out of disgraceful places and contrition.
And seize me from those which are good even though in disgrace.
Out of shame, receive me to yourselves in shamelessness.
And out of shamelessness and shame, blame my members among yourselves.
And come forward to me, you who know me and who know my members.
Establish the great ones among the small first creatures.

Come forward to childhood and do not despise it because it is little and small.
And do not bring back some greatnesses in parts from smallnesses,
for the smallnesses are known from the greatnesses.

Image

Why do you curse me and honor me?
You have wounded and you have had mercy.

Do not separate me from the first ones whom you have k[nown.
And] do not cast anyone [out
and do not] bring anyone back […]
…brought you back
and … [kno]w him not.

[I…] what is mine
[…] I know the fi[rst ones] and those after them know me.
But I am the [perfect] mind and the repose of the […]
I am the gnosis of my seeking, and the finding of those who seek after me.
And the command of those who ask of me.

And the power of the powers by my gnosis
of the angels who have been sent by my logos,

And the gods in their seasons by my command,
And it is with me that the spirits of all humans exist,
and it is within me that women exist.

I am she who is honored and praised and who is despised scornfully.
I am peace and because of me war has come to be.
And I am an alien and a citizen.
I am substance and she who has no substance.
Those who come into being from my synousia are ignorant of me,
And those who are in my substance know me.

Those who are close to me have been ignorant of me
And those who are far from me have known me.

On the day when I am close to [you, you] are far away [from me
And] on the day when I [am far away] from you, [I am] [close] to you.
I [am] [….] within.
[I..] ….. of the natures.
I am [……] of the creation of spirits ….request of the souls. (18,35-19,8). [I am} restraint and unrestraint.
I am union and dissolution.
I am the abiding and I am the loosing.
I am descent and they come up to me.
I am the judgment and the acquittal.
I, I am sinless and the root of sin is from me.
I am desire in appearance and self-control of the heart exists within me.

I am the hearing which is attainable to everyone and the un-graspable utterance.
I am a non-speaking mute and great is my multitude of utterances.

Hear me in softness and learn from me in harshness.

I am she who cries out,
And I am cast out upon the face of the earth.
I prepare the bread and my mind within.
I am the gnosis of my name.
I am she who cries out and I am the one who listens.

I appear an[d…] walk in […]
seal of my […]…[sign] of the
I am […] the defense.
I am she who is cal[led] Truth. And violence […]

You honor me […] and you whisper against [me].
You who are defeated,
judge them before they pass judgment against you.
For the judge and partiality exist within you.
If you are condemned by this, who will acquit you?
Or if you are acquitted by him, who will be able to restrain you?

For what is inside of you is what is outside of you.
And the one who molded you on the outside has made an impression of it inside of you.
And that which you see outside of you,
you see inside of you.
It is manifest and it is your garment.

Hear me, listeners, and be taught my utterances, you who know me!

YHVH

I am the hearing that is acceptable in every matter;
I am the utterance that cannot be restrained.
I am the name of the voice and the voice of the name.
I am the sign of writing and the manifestation of difference.

And I …
[3 lines missing]
[…] light […] and […]
[…] listeners […] you.

[…] the great power.
And […] will not move the name.
[…] the one who created me.
But I shall speak his name.

Behold, then, his utterances and all the writings that have been completed.
Give heed, then, listeners, and you also, angels,
And those who have been sent,
And you spirits who have arisen from the dead.

For I am the one who alone exists,
And I have no one who will judge me.

For many are the sweet forms that exist in numerous sins
And unrestrained acts and disgraceful passions, and temporal pleasures,
Which are restrained until they become sober
And run up to their place of rest.
And they will find me there,
And they will live and they will not die again.

For those who prefer fluff ‘n’ stuff the message can be made more appealing to the senses.

A 2005 film by Jordan Scott (the daughter of Ridley Scott) depicts Canadian model Daria Werbowy moving through various urban scenes (such as a nightclub, the back of a taxi, and around Potsdamer Platz in Berlin), while a recitation from the poem is read in as a form of narrative commentary. A shortened version of the film was used in a Prada advertisement with Canadian supermodel Daria Werbowy, to promote the launch of the fashion house’s first perfume.

Swastika Thunder Lightning Associations

E. Wallis Budge Amulets and Superstitions

On page 333 we find the quote made by Herr E.A. Wallis Budge:

The Chinese name for the swastika is Lei Wen, i.e. “thunder scroll,” a fact which shows that the sign was associated with phenomena of the sky.

The swastika symbol has been identified as representing the hammer or lightning of Thor.[48] Scholar Hilda Ellis Davidson (1965) comments on the usage of the swastika as a symbol of Thor:

The protective sign of the hammer was worn by women, as we know from the fact that it has been found in women’s graves. it seems to have been used by the warrior also, in the form of the swastika. […] Primarily it appears to have had connections with light and fire, and to have been linked with the sun-wheel. It may have been on account of Thor’s association with lightning that this sign was used as an alternative to the hammer, for it is found on memorial stones in Scandinavia besides inscriptions to Thor. When we find it on the pommel of a warrior’s sword and on his sword-belt, the assumption is that the warrior was placing himself under the Thunder God’s protection.[49]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thor

In pre-Christian Pagan Europe, the swastika was generally a solar symbol, but in many cases, its use dates so far back in history that its original meaning is obscured.

In Baltic regions, the swastika is sometimes called the “thunder cross,” and is associated with the Thunder God Perkons (Perkunis).

A variation of the Thunder Cross, or Cross of Perkons

ImageImageImage

This indication, in my opinion, casts great light on the original meaning of the swastika.

It is the mythological representation of lightning, that is to say of the thunderbolts of the thunder god, and the four broken lines thus simulate the zigzags of lightning. The thunder god has been the great national divinity of the bellicose and conquering peoples of Aryan origin. In nearly all branches of this family, it is he who has preeminence or who is the most ardently invoked. With the Slavs, Perun (with the Lithuanians, Perkunas) is the chief god — the king of gods — and by his name and also by his attributes and duties he corresponds to the old Vedic god Parjanya, the divine bull who bellows during storms and sprays, in the shape of rain, his semen over the earth in order to fecundate it. The Aryans of the Vedic era transferred their belief in this cult to another thunder god — Indra.

The Greeks and the Romans had Zeus and Jupiter respectively, each being god of the heavens and lightning, victorious enemy of the giants and malevolent genies hidden in the dark clouds who he tears apart with great blows of his thunder. For the Germans and the Scandinavians, Donar or Thor, although subordinate to Woden or Odin, were not any less powerful than the latter. That the representation of the weapon of the god of lightning, that the hook-shaped cross — the swastika — has thus become the preferred sign and mark of the Aryo-Europeans, altogether their “good luck charm,” to my eyes makes total sense, and I propose that we accept this as the most likely meaning until we are more amply informed.

This symbolization of god by his weapon is, moreover, nothing new. Thor, who I just mentioned, is armed, according to tradition, with a magic ax-hammer which he flings upon his adversaries and which returns itself to his hands. Now, messieurs, it turns out that ax-hammers were used by men throughout northern Europe during both the Stone Age and Bronze Age; therefore the mythological tradition of Thor should come as no surprise.

In Greece and in Asia Minor, the lonians, Carians, and Lydians had as their national weapon the double-headed ax. Now, this ax has been the emblem of Zeus who at Miletus and Halicarnassus took the surname Labrandeus (Plutarch said that “ax” is called labrus in Lydia), and who was represented in the temples and on coins as holding this ax in one hand and a lance in the other. Additionally, he was Zeus Chrysaorias, with gold sword in hand, that is to say, he was the god of the heavens and lightning.

DISCUSSION Monsieur GABRIEL de MORTILLET.

What I see in the swastika is a representation of the instrument that serves to make fire;

… my opinion nevertheless also lends support to your well-reasoned conclusion, Monsieur de Rialle.

FIRE!

Prometheus is the archetypal Traitor, who betrays the established order in favor of a new world, and he is the patron of all such traitors. First, he betrayed his kin, the Titans, in favor of Zeus and the Olympians, since he foresaw the inevitable victory of Olympian civilization over the brutish Titanic world.

Prometheus, Titan helper of mankind | Laconian black figure amphoriskos C6th B.C. | Vatican City Museums

left image: Buddha with the swastika used symbolically as a SEAL for the heART
right image: next to an image of Prometheus with Zeus’ Eagle feasting on his heart (in this image)
the eagle feasting has also been associated with his LIvEr

But there is evidence Prometheus as an idea was a rip-off copy KAt kinda of theft … more than being the real McCoy Prometheus, a story about the theft of fire was a theft in itself.
Makes sense to me, here is my source for saying such things and passing on such a rumor.

In ArgosPhoroneus was still remembered in historical times, and the Argives brought offerings to his grave as to a hero, keeping also a statue of him, next to which there was an ever burning fire, for according to the Argives, it was Phoroneus who discovered fire, and not Prometheus 1 as others think.

selah V

2B continued…all the pieces are slowly falling into place, into ONE harmonious whole, even IF that means we are being sucked down a vortex, enjoy the ride it was meant to be.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • raphael  On January 25, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    http://www.armeniancarpets.am/page/armenian-carpets-in-the-ritual-cultic-system

    1. Carpet-Weaving as a Ritual. From the beginning, the carpet was a ritual-cultic object among the Armenians, as witnessed by a number of customs and rites that have come down to us. In essence, it also meant that to weave a carpet was a ritual-cultic ceremony, the manifestations of which have been observed in the Armenian carpet-weaving centres in our days as well…

Trackbacks

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.